CONTACT: Carl DeFebo
Phone: 717-831-7176

Renee Colborn
January 28, 2015

Former State Senator Sean Logan Appointed Pa. Turnpike Chairman

Bill Lieberman named vice chair; PennDOT Secretary Richards attends first meeting.
MIDDLETOWN, PA. (JAN. 28, 2015) - Former State Senator Sean Logan of Monroeville, Pa. was named chairman of the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission (PTC) today during a bimonthly meeting of the five-member panel. Pittsburgh businessman William K. Lieberman was appointed vice chairman under a commission-approved reorganization, and Transportation Secretary Leslie S. Richards of Whitemarsh, Pa. attended her first meeting as a Turnpike commissioner.

Chairman Logan was appointed to the PTC in July, 2013. He is president of the Monroeville Area Chamber of Commerce and executive director and CEO of Visit Monroeville. He served 10 years in the senate, where he held leadership positions including appropriations-committee member. He was mayor of Monroeville and vice president of community relations for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC); he continues to serve as chairman of the UPMC East Board of Directors. He holds a bachelor's degree in political science from the University of Pittsburgh.

"The Turnpike embarks on its 75th year in 2015, and that presents both a great challenge and a great opportunity for commissioners," said Chairman Logan. "Our challenge is allocating the massive resources needed to continue to rebuild and upgrade our system while meeting our other funding obligations; our opportunity is to reestablish the Pennsylvania Turnpike - America's First Superhighway - as an innovator in the ground-transportation industry nationwide."

Chairman Logan's first action taken during the meeting was a revision to the commission's Code of Conduct to be consistent with Governor Tom Wolf's Executive Order No. 2015-01 regarding the acceptance of gifts.

"Consistency is a key component to ensure transparency, and I applaud the Governor's stance with the gift ban," Chairman Logan said. "My fellow commissioners want to ensure that all Turnpike employees follow the same policy."

Vice Chairman Lieberman was appointed to the PTC in July 2010. He has been president of The Lieberman Companies, Pittsburgh - an insurance and pension provider - since 2003. He serves on the boards of AMPCO Pittsburgh and GENCO. A graduate of the Pennsylvania State University, State College, Pa., he is a University of Pittsburgh trustee and former chairman of the Manchester-Bidwell Corp., Pittsburgh.

"My fellow commissioners and I have been entrusted to manage this highway armed with a roadmap to guide our efforts to better serve customers," said Vice Chairman Lieberman. "A strategic plan adopted last year will help ensure that we fulfill our responsibility to meet today's operational challenges while driving toward our vision of tomorrow."

Transportation Secretary Leslie S. Richards attended her first meeting as an ex-officio member of the Turnpike Commission; Secretary Richards was sworn in Jan. 20, becoming the first female transportation secretary in the commonwealth. She replaced former Secretary Barry J. Schoch, who will continue to serve as an advisor to Gov. Wolf. Secretary Schoch was appointed Transportation Secretary in January 2011.

"On behalf of the commissioners, I'd like to express my gratitude to Barry for his years of loyal service and wise counsel to the commission," said Chairman Logan. "We're pleased to welcome Secretary Richards, who possesses extensive experience in the areas of transportation planning and engineering. We're certain she will be a capable addition to the commission as we embark on our 75th year of safety and service."

Secretary Richards began her career in civil engineering and project management before being named to the Whitemarsh Township Board in 2007 and the Montgomery County Board in 2011. A graduate of Brown University, Providence, R.I., and the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, she was vice chair of the Montgomery County Board and chair and vice chair of the Whitemarsh Township Board. In addition, she served on the boards of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) and the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC).

The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission was created by the state legislature in 1937 to construct, finance, operate and maintain the Turnpike, which first opened to traffic on Oct. 1, 1940. Four commissioners, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate, plus the secretary of transportation, serve on the commission for four-year terms. The commission oversees more than 550 miles of highway which carries about 550,000 vehicles per day. Learn more at